Marriage License in Hawaii 

Beach Permits

Gratuity ~ Love Offering


Holiday, Rehearsals & Early Ceremonies

Miscellaneous Information

Substitutions, Cancellations, Holidays, Rain Plans

Travel Fee

Marriage License in Hawaii

A license is required for a Marriage in the State of Hawaii. There are no blood tests or waiting periods and no residency or citizenship requirement and you do not need a witness at your ceremony. The fee is $65.00. You may apply for it on-line here: APPLY ONLINE. You have a year to pick it up, with the Department of Health. You must appear with your partner together with your identification. Once you have your marriage license worksheet in hand, it is valid for only 30 days. (It must be signed by an officiant within 30 days to be valid.) This document will need to be signed in front of your officiant so you must bring it to your ceremony. When your ceremony is complete, your wedding officiate will immediately file your document on-line with the State of Hawaii. It will be recorded and you will receive your legal document in 30-40 days via post mail. You may view and print out the document on-line within 72 business hours. If you need to expedite your license, you may do so by by filing the appropriate form and paying an additional $10 fee at the time you register in person.

Hawaii State Department of Health
1250 Punchbowl Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Telephone (808)586-4138
Hours: 7:45 am – 4 pm Hawaii Standard Time.

Driving Directions: The Hawaii State Health Department is located on the NW corner of Beretania and Punchbowl. Driving West on Beretania, go one block past Punchbowl St., turn right at the next street, Miller, and turn right again onto Punchbowl. Metered public parking is available on the right in front of the Health Department building just before the intersection. The Department of Health is closed on state and federal holidays.

In Honolulu After Hours Service

If you can’t make it to the Department of Health in time or if you know your wedding is on a weekend and you arrive outside of department office hours, you may contact Sheri Luning. Sheri is an outside agent for the Department of Health. In order to use her service you must have your online application completed with location number on hand. It will be $5 cash and you are welcome to give her a little more although it is not required, nor does she expect it. Some folks just like to! To schedule meeting please email: marriagelicensehawaii@gmail.com and she will respond asap.

Beach Permits

Why Do I Need One?
The Department of Land & Natural Resources requires beach use permits for all weddings performed on Hawaiian beaches in the sand. All Beach Use Permits must be applied for and obtained for a specific day and time. The event must not exceed 2 hours per permit. The public beach area is defined as being on sand up to the “high water mark.” Permits are not required for oceanfront parks such as Magic Island or Kaka’ako Waterfront Park. There is a $5,000 fine for performing a wedding without a Beach Use permit. As a service, I Do Hawaiian Weddings will assist with ceremony locations and advise as well as secure your beach use permit for you. The Beach Use Permit fee is $65 for processing. We will have it on hand for your service.


How Do I Pay?

You will receive a detailed invoice for services along with secure payment link. No checks accepted. The balance due is 15 days prior to your event. Once we are in agreement a non-refundable deposit of 50% is required at the time of confirmation to reserve your date. If your wedding date is less than 30 days away, full payment must be met immediately. We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover. Gratuities for services are not included but may be added to your total in advance if you wish. Terms and conditions: All fees and prices shown are good for the time of deposit.

Gratuity ~ Love Offering 

 Our team welcomes gratuity however we like to call them “Love Offerings." They are certainly not required and always welcomed. Any amount is appropriate and greatly appreciated by all. We believe when you give, it is from your heart to ours. So feel your way into it. We will do our best no matter what! When to Tip: The couple should hand off the envelope at the end of the ceremony, or send a thank-you note with photos or a check after the honeymoon.  

Wedding Planner

Wedding planners won't likely expect anything; however, if yours did a great job you can always offer a token of your appreciation. Approximately 50 percent of couples do tip their planners. The standard: Up to $500, or a nice gift, depending on the your total service cost and how you felt about what you received overall, if your needs and expectations were met. 

Wedding Ceremony Officiant

If your officiant is affiliated with a church or synagogue, you're often expected to make a donation to that institution. If you're a member you'll probably want to give a larger amount than if you're not. However, if you're getting married there and they're charging you to use the space, feel free to give a smaller amount.
The standard: Donate $500+ to the church or synagogue, or, for a nondenominational officiant, an optional tip of $50 - $100
When to Tip: Most ceremony fees are required prior to the wedding. Otherwise, have the best man pass the cash envelope at the rehearsal dinner if the officiant is in attendance. 

Wedding Ceremony Musicians

Our solo professionals love to play and sing. Even if you worked with a mini orchestra to come up with the perfect score for your service (and they pulled it off flawlessly), consider showing some monetary thanks for their talent.
 Protocol: Optional
The standard: $20 - $30 minimum per musician
When to Tip: At the end of the ceremony. 

Wedding Photographer/Videographer

You're not expected to give your shutterbugs any dough beyond their normal fees. Yet our wedding photographer or videographer do not own their own studios, so consider tipping each person (or give a certain amount with a thank-you note to disperse to staff).
Protocol: Optional
The standard: $50 - $200 per vendor
When to Tip: At the end of the ceremony / reception. 

Wedding Transportation

Again, check your contract, as gratuity is usually included. If it isn't, plan to tip provided they show up on time and don't get lost!
Protocol: Expected
The standard: 15 - 20 percent of the total bill
When to Tip: At the end of the night or after the last ride. If you used a separate company for the guest buses, designate a bus captain to hand the driver a tip, otherwise, this duty falls to the best man. 

Wedding Hair Stylist & Makeup Artist

This is one area where a gratuity is definitely expected. Tip between 15 - 20 percent just as you would in a hair salon, and consider giving a little extra if there's a crisis, like one of your bridesmaids has a meltdown over her updo and it requires a redo at the last minute.
Protocol: Expected
The standard: 15 - 25 percent, depending upon the quality of service
When to Tip: At the end of your service. 

Wedding Delivery and Set-up Staff

Slip a few dollars to anyone delivering important items to the site (wedding cake, flowers, or sound system). And if a lot of gear needs to be brought in and set up (tents, chairs, or port-a-potties), the workers deserve a tip too.
Protocol: Expected
The standard: $5 - $10 per person
When to Tip: Drop off cash envelopes the day before the wedding to the catering manager so the person accepting deliveries can turn the tip. 

Wedding Reception Staff

This type of staff includes the on-site coordinator, maitre d', and banquet manager. A service charge (typically 2 percent) is almost always built in to the food and drink fee, so check your contract. If the gratuity is not included, tip as follows.
Protocol: Expected
The standard: 15 - 20 percent of the food and drink fee (based on labor, not the cost), or $200 - $300 for the maitre d'.
When to Tip: If it's covered in the contract, the final bill is typically due before the reception. Otherwise, have the father of the bride or best man hand the envelope to the maitre d' at the end of the reception since you will need to know the final tab to calculate the percentage. 

Wedding Reception Attendants

When it comes to bartenders, waitstaff, parking, bathroom, and coat-room attendants the rules of tipping are dictated by your contract. If the service fee is included, consider doling out extra only if the service was exceptional. If it's not included, ask ahead of time how many attendants will be working your wedding and calculate on a per person basis.
Protocol: Optional, based on contract
The standard: $20 - $25 per bartender or waiter; $1 per guest for coat room and parking attendants; $1 per car
 When to Tip: Although tips are traditionally passed out at the end of the event, you could alternately distribute them at the beginning of the evening, to encourage all the workers to give you great service. 

Wedding Reception Band or DJ

Whether you hire 12-piece swing band or grooving to a DJ, tipping musicians is completely optional. (Depending on the quality of the job and how willing they were to follow your ideal playlist!) And don't forget about any sound technicians they bring with them.
Protocol: Optional, yet preferred
The standard: $20 - $25 per musician; $50 - $150 for DJs
When to Tip: At the end of the reception, by the best man.

Holiday, Rehearsals & Early Ceremonies

Additional Wedding Fees

Travel Fee
Ceremonies outside of Honolulu proper, or on the West or North shore will incur a $125 travel fee for each team member serving you.
Holidays, Rehearsals & Before 8:00am Ceremonies
An additional $125 service charge will be added to your request. Most small, intimate beach weddings do not need a rehearsal however if you desire one, we'd be happy to be of service.

Substitutions, Cancellations, Holidays, Rain Plan


Last minute changes or substitutions are based on availability and may or may not incur a fee.


If you cancel you have up to 6 months to use your deposit for another date. No refund after 6 months should rescheduling not occur.

Terms and conditions

ALL REFUNDS will be charged an $18.00 fee per $50.00 for credit charge back fees.

Running Late?

Our staff will wait 20 minutes for you if you are late. Please note: A $50 additional fee will be charged for each 20 minute delay of ceremony per each staff member if you are late.

Rain Plan

The wedding will go on unless we are experiencing very adverse weather. We have been blessed with a near perfect record and will visualize the perfect end result for you too!

Miscellaneous Information

Why should we chose Oahu/Honolulu/Waikiki for our Hawaii Wedding?

Oahu is known as the gathering place. There is lots to do, good transportation and reasonable prices. It has quiet, secluded beaches…” the rest of the sentence remains the same. Spending some time in Waikiki, then driving one hour to the other side of the island, is like going to an outer island without the time and expense involved.

Would the vows be available for our preview and can we make changes?

Yes, just let us know and we will email a set of vows to you. We don’t encourage vow changes as we feel our variety is broad however if you must make a change, please feel free to discuss it with us and will we do our best to work it out.

Are we able to meet with the officiate prior to the ceremony?

Yes, and we are happy to meet with you. There is a one hour consultation fee of $125.00. This fee will be the same for a rehearsal.

What is the best time of day to have the ceremony?

For beach weddings, we suggest before 10 am or after 4 pm for best photos. Garden ceremonies are best mid-day.